The Redefinition of Success

Haley Hoffman
3 min readMay 13, 2021

--

What does success mean to you? Does it mean getting that job you’ve been interviewing for? Does it mean getting promoted after a year of hard diligent work? Maybe it means you woke up 30 minutes earlier than usual and were finally able to make yourself the breakfast you deserve.

People are often asked, “How did you reach success in ___?” or “How did you know you were finally successful in ___?”

When I was in college, thinking about this question, or more importantly, even being asked this question, seemed years out of my reach. Questions like these were undoubtedly saved for me in 2040 or later.

In my final year of college, weeks before the pandemic, I would often visualize how I wanted to feel while sitting in my gown at graduation. I would visualize myself sitting there getting excited for the dream entry-level job I was going to embark on before my name would be called to walk across the stage. I would visualize every little thing that I hoped I’d be able to celebrate and raise my glass to on that day. At that time, this is what success meant to me, or at least the foundation of success.

Well, in 2021, we all know how that turned out. My new postponed graduation is now set for July 31st. Now, I still sit here, visualizing how I want to feel while sitting in my gown at graduation.

However, this visualization looks a lot different than it did a year ago.

After virtual graduation #1 and being thrown into my first real job which was held completely remote, I quickly learned a few things. One being: “Excuse me, this 9–5 is for the rest of my life?” and two: “Wow you can get pretty much everything done digitally.”

It didn’t take me long until I took the leap of faith, that I’m sure many others took around the same time, into an independent career.

The word success now means something completely different to me. I am able to answer the question, I found success in my independent journey, because I started.

Success is not linear, it is not a race to the top, it is not measured by achievements and it is not using others as a stepping stone to reach the hierarchy. Success is ever changing: it is personal, collaborative, and limitless.

I found success in my independent journey when I joined Contra. When you join Contra, you’re not measured by the number of years you’ve clocked in or by the titles you’ve held, you’re measured through the creative value you hold for yourself and others. Contra is a web of projects and services all packed into a collaborative community of doers. Contra provides the freedom and flexibility to take what you’re best at and match it with those who need it most. Contra does not ask you to mold yourself into a job or role, it allows you to find teams and projects that fit you and your lifestyle.

Now, just two months away from real-life graduation #2, I sit here visualizing the path I’m able to create for myself. I visualize raising my glass to being able to create meaningful work anywhere in the world. I visualize celebrating my past projects and skills I learned while in college that I can now apply to future relevant projects. I do not visualize that 9–5 waiting for me on the other end or the commitment to one path in order to feel success anymore. I visualize the limitless amount of collaborators I can connect and make a difference with, the number of projects I can find value through, but most importantly the quality of life where I am the top priority over the number of hours I sit at a desk.

Welcome to Contra, the new way to work, build, connect and live. Welcome to the redefinition of success.

--

--